Blog Entry 31: My Little Hypothyroid

I have had hypothyroidism since my first son was born almost 4 years ago. Today I am taking charge of it. I have booked an appointment with my doctor for after my camping trip for blood work and meds upgrades.

Fact: I am 5 foot 1.5 inches tall.

Fact: I am currently sitting at 216lbs.

Fact: My BMI is 41

Fact: I don’t like the way I look.

Here is a Diet Plan I found online that has helped a few people with Hypothyroidism.

BREAKFAST
Easy Breakfast
2 Egg White Omelet, 1/2 cup Fruit Salad
Gourmet Breakfast
Spring Omelet Primavera (mushrooms, Green Peppers, Onions & Fresh Basil)
1/2 fresh Fruit Salad
Rapid Results Breakfast
3 Egg White Omelet, 1 cup Greens (or 1/2 cup Grapefruit)
MENU PLANNER CHOICES:
2 oz. Protein A 1/2 cup Fruit A
2 oz. Protein B 1/4 cup Fruit B

MID MORNING SNACK (about 2 hours after breakfast)
Easy Snack
2 oz. Chicken Breast or Turkey Breast & 1/2 cup Fruit
Gourmet Snack
Turkey “Prosciutto” – Turkey wrapped around Cantaloupe
Rapid Results Snack
3 oz. Turkey Breast & 1 cup Greens
MENU PLANNER CHOICES
2 oz. Protein A ½ cup Fruit A
2 oz. Protein B ¼ cup Fruit B

LUNCH (about 3 hours after snack)
Easy Lunch
2 oz. Chicken Breast, ½ cup Rice and 1 cup Mixed Veggies
Gourmet Lunch
Luau Chicken Kebabs – Chicken Breast Skewers with Pineapple, Peppers, onions & Cherry tomatoes & Ginger Marinade over Seasoned Rice.
Rapid Results Lunch
2 oz. Chicken Breast, ½ cup Rice and 1 cup Mixed Veggies
MENU PLANNER CHOICES
2 oz. Protein A ½ cup Carb A 1 cup Veggie A
2 oz. Protein B ½ cup Carb B 1 cup Veggie A

MID AFTERNOON SNACK (about 2 hours after lunch)
Easy Snack
2 oz. Chicken Breast & ½ cup Roasted Red Potatoes
Gourmet Snack
Mini Salad Nicoise – Fresh Tuna over Lettuce, Green Beans, 1 Hard-Boiled Egg White & Boiled Potato pieces (Lemon Juice or Balsamic Vinegar for dressing)
Rapid Results Snack
3 oz. Fresh Tuna & 1 cup Greens
MENU PLANNER CHOICES
2 oz. Protein A ½ cup Carb A
2 oz. Protein B ½ cup Carb B

DINNER (about 3 hours after snack)
Easy Dinner
2 oz. Chicken Breast, ½ cup Potato & 1 to 2 cups Veggies
Gourmet Dinner
Chicken Breast sautéed in Garlic and White Wine, Steamed Asparagus and Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Rapid Results Dinner
2 to 3 oz. Lean Turkey Breast and ½ cup Grapefruit
MENU PLANNER CHOICES
2 oz. Protein A ½ cup Carb A 1 to 2 cups Veggie A
2 oz. Protein B ½ cup Carb B 1 to 2 cups Veggie A
1 to 2 oz. Protein C ½ cup Carb A or B 1 to 2 cups Veggie A

PM SNACK (OPTIONAL) (about 2 hours after dinner)
Easy Snack
½ cup Mixed Berries
Gourmet Snack
Cinnamon spiced Peaches
Rapid Results Snack
½ Grapefruit
MENU PLANNER CHOICES
½ cup Fruit A

MENU PLANNER FOOD LIST
Protein A
Fish – Cod, Flounder, Haddock, Orange Roughy, Red Snapper
Fish Steak – Halibut, Mahi Mahi, Tuna, Shark
Tuna, Canned – Look for Low salt or no salt
Protein B
Chicken Breast – No skin
Crab or Lobster – Fresh is best
Shrimp – Fresh is best
Turkey Breast – No skin, or ground
Protein C
Beef, Eye of Round
Beef, Ground – Look for leanest possible
Beef, Sirloin Steak
Pork, Lean Chop
Pork, Lean Tenderloin

Vegetables A
Artichokes, Celery
Asparagus, Cucumbers
Beets, Green Beans
Bell Peppers, Snow Peas  
Summer Squash
Carrots, Tomatoes 
Lettuce – pretty much a free amount

Carbs A
Jicama 
Potato
Squash – Acorn, Banana, Butternut, Spaghetti
Yam/Sweet Potato
Carbs B
Barley
Oatmeal
Rice – White or Brown
Rice Noodles
Rice Pasta

Fruit A
Grapefruit
Mixed Berries
Peaches
Pineapple
Strawberries
Fruit B
Bananas, Cantaloupe, Papaya, Plums
Apples, Honeydew, Pears

So my hope is to lose 50lbs by this time next year. I plan on adding a weekly weight to my blog entries at the end of the week.

So today starts this off:

I am 216lbs, my goal for now is 50lbs. This will put me at 166lbs, which I have not been in 5 years.

0/50lbs-June 30, 2011

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Blog Entry 31: My Little Hypothyroid

  1. Anonymous

    I know what your going through. Since having liam I have packed on the pounds thanks to my wonderful hypothyroid. I don't like what I see in the mirror or on the scales but I hate taking “meds”. I recently found the spark (book and site. I can't believe this site is free, it's so amazing. I'm feeling more motivated and excited about myself and life. I strongly suggest you check it out. It's not a starve yourself program like all the others out there. I'm really impressed. http://www.sparkpeople.com if you need a code it's in the book (get the book!) or call me and I'll give you my code. If you need a buddy to help you through and push each other you know what to do. Big hugs, I know you can do it!
    Ivanna

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

