Blog Entry 40: Religion?

 

No, no, I’m not asking why should we or do we have religion, religion as a whole, is good for you. What I want to know is why must we fight about what religion is right, wrong or horrible? Who said your religion is right? Is it because its older? New aged? Deep rooted? I always hid behind a wall of what was accepted religiously and what wasn’t. In essence I lived a double life for reasons that now seem so silly. The truth is, no religion is “right” and no religion is “wrong”. What is right and wrong is the morals that the said religion teaches you and/or your family.

Think about it this way if you will, Matthew 22:39 “And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. “

Through the ages, war murder has been committed in the name of religion, be it the Christian, Muslin, or any other main stream religion. But why is that if the common theme to all religions is peace and love. Love thy neighbor, do onto others as you would like done on to you, the amount of common writings about peace can go on. Wikipedia when searched, has so many references to “The Golden Rule” that one could sit and ponder why so many religions feel the same but fight.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_Rule#Religion_and_philosophy

Yes anyone who knows me will know that I am not a follower of main stream religions. I follow my own path and chose it 8 years ago. Like all religions it also has “The Golden Rule”,  Do onto others as you would like done onto you or An it harm none, do what ye will. Then there is always the “Rule of three”, this means what ever you do comes back at you three folds, be it good or bad. Frankly I would rather not say something nasty about someone for no reason just to have it come back to me three times over, thanks but no thanks.

I am also a firm believer of KARMA. This also seems to coincide with the Rule of Three. Wikipedia defines KARMA as the concept of an “action” or “deed”, understood as that which causes the entire cycle if cause and effect (i.e., the cycle called samsara) originating in ancient Indian and treated in Hindu, Jain, Buddhist, and Sikh philosophies. In other words what you do will come back at you in the future.

So again I ask, what makes your religion the right one? What make it “better than” mine?

To believe in a higher power is something we all need. I firmly believe that having faith in something, really anything, helps guide us through the paths that we need to take. For example, in my house we are very much divided but respectful, when it comes to religion. I was baptized as a Roman Catholic but at 17 looked for a religion that felt right to me. Since that time I have been an Egyptian Pagan, meaning I followed the deities of the Egypt. My husband on the other hand is Roman Catholic and though does not go to church regularly, he follows the teachings in the bible. Our children are not yet baptized nor follow any set religion, but we (my husband and I) teach our children both of our religions.

Just  because in the bible it says Exodus 22:18 – “Thou shall not suffer a witch to live.” does not mean that it is word for word true.

What does one consider to be a witch? This?

Or how about this?

And really, does it matter? Does it matter that my religion is different? Do I kill, nope. Do I steal, never. Do I eat babies? Well maybe some veal now and again but its been years. These are all the things that some people think pagans do. Did you know I loath war? Did you know I don’t watch the news because of all the murders, rapes and thieves? If having a different religion that gives me morals is horrible, then what does that make those people? What does that make the Priest that rapes little kids, or the Taliban who bombs a church and kills 100s of people, or how about the guy who beats a dog just cause he feels like it? What makes their religion any better, their religious morals don’t seem to make a difference.

Religious morals is almost identical in every religion, so why argue, why fight, why kill.  There is no reason.

NOTE: I will not go into Atheism as I really do not understand it but respect that it is a choice that people take. I mean no offence to anyone who is an Atheist in this blog post.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Blog Entry 40: Religion?

  1. Sandra B

    Very Interesting. Thanks for posting.

  2. Ivanna

    It is because of “ego” that there is strife within us, in the world and between religious and spiritual views. Dr. Wayne Dyer has a very interesting view on ego you might want to hear.
    Love and Light

    • I’d love to learn more about him, I’ll google him, maybe my next post will be about him 😉 Love and Light Aunty.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

