Blog Entry 56: 40 bags in 40 days.

I love organizing, anyone who knows me knows that, be it helping people with their filing or daily household stuff, I LOVE to organize. A huge part of organizing is toss things you no longer need. I follow a few simple rules:

1. If you have not worn/used it in 6 months and its NOT a seasonal item, TOSS it!

2. Seasonal items, is it worn? Faded? Broke? Toss it. (Exception is items passed down through the family that you (or in this case I) love, like that special Christmas ornament that your grandma bought in her first year of marriage 60+ years ago, that would be an exception.)

3. Kitchen cupboards, AKA the dreaded JUNK DRAWER. I try to go through it once a month. With a family of 5 it gets full fast. Part of the goal with this 40 bags in 40 days is to completely remove the junk draw issue by no longer having a junk drawer.

4. Buy only what you need. Do you need 8 of the same shade of lip stick? NO. In reality we, the average human population, don’t need half the “crap” we have. I’ve seen those “coupon shows” and frankly, the food, toilet paper and other things like that is not a bad idea but the people who buy makeup, deodorant and so on in such bulk needs a good head check because that is nothing but hording. Make up does expire, most things do! So unless you wear that lip stick every day and can easily go through 8 in less than 6 months, STOP BUYING so many. The same goes with other house hold “crap”. Don’t have 30 towels for 5 people, knock that back to 2 each and 2 extra for guests. Take care of your stuff and only replace what you need when you need it.

Pretty simple rules huh.

So moving on past my rules to the real point of this blog entry. I read Clover Lane’s Blog entry: 40 bags in 40 days (Find it HERE) and I was rather impressed. I am ashamed to admit it but even with my wonderful organizational skills I have WAY to much “crap” in my house. Cloths I don’t wear, bags and boxes of toys the kids don’t use, movies I have not watched in years and so on. The only place I don’t have “crap” is my craft room because I know the limit with that room. Heck even the pets have “crap” they don’t use or need anymore.

The idea of 40 bags in 40 days is one I really like, hence why I am going for it starting September 1 2012. I figured starting on the first would be perfect, AND its also a long weekend, score!

Some of you might be thinking, isn’t 40 bags in 40 days something to do with lent and aren’t you pagan? Its true, from what I have been reading, 40 bags in 40 days, is to do with lent, but just because something was started for some type of religion does not mean it doesn’t work for all. I see it as a way of mundanely cleansing my soul.

As a stay at home mom and home business owner, my house is me. How it looks, smells and feels, reflects onto my mood more so than a person who works full time and only ever really uses their home as a place to crash and sleep. Getting ride of all the extra “crap” and setting a goal and date is like going to your place of worship and getting rid of negative energy, like say having a smudging done or going to confession. That’s why this challenge is so exciting for me. A. it gets rid of “crap” and B. its a great way to cleanse my soul.

So umm, reading over this I have yet to explain what 40 bags in 40 days is. Oops!

Here is what other sites/blogs say: During Lent (40 days) rid your house of 40 bags of stuff, things you don’t love, don’t use, junk, accumulated stuff, clutter, garbage and so on.

Here is what I say: Take 40 days and rid your house of 40 bags of stuff… things you don’t love, don’t use, junk, accumulated stuff, clutter, garbage and so on. (Pretty much the same thing but I’m removing the religious innuendo.)

Starting the 1st of Sept, I am challenging myself to toss/recycle 40 bags worth the “crap” in 40 days. I’ll be making a list (YAY another love of mine) and posting it the day I start. I will than post once a week until its done letting you know how it goes.

So dear readers what do you think? Do you think you will try this challenge? Do you think my husband will think I am insane? Well that’s probably a yes followed by a groan because he knows he’s the one who has to take out that bags *wink*.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Blog Entry 56: 40 bags in 40 days.

  1. Mom1

    Love it baby girl! What an awesome idea…wonder if I could get away with that here without your Dad noticing?!
    Proud of you as always. Love you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

